Dynamic Business Logo
Home Button
Bookmark Button

Abacus Industry Award winners announced

The 2010 Abacus Industry Award winners were announced in an awards ceremony at the Abacus 2010 Convention in Adelaide this morning.

Abacus Industry Award winners announcedThe Abacus awards are the premier industry awards for the mutual financial services industry: credit unions, mutual building societies and friendly societies.

Abacus CEO Louise Petschler applauded the winners of this year’s awards.

“Along with our annual Industry awards, this year we selected four recipients from our industry to honour with Distinguished Service Awards. These awards recognise significant achievement and dedication to the mutual industry,” said

The winners of 2010’s Distinguished Service Awards are Ashley Jennings, from SCU; David Nicholds, from EECU; Bob Powell, from CUA; and Kevin Ross from CUA.

The 2010 Abacus Industry Award winners are:

· Innovation Award – Victoria Teachers’ Credit Union for its online membership application which allows new members to join online and be fully identified in around 5 minutes;
· Community Award – Hume Building Society for its commitment to improving financial literacy in its local community;
· Sustainability Award – Teachers Credit Union for The Teachers Environment Fund, an initiative to assist public schools and TAFEs enhance their sustainability by providing grants for environmental projects; and
· The Philip Elliott Legacy Award – the Honourable Mike Ahern

The 2010 Bridges Emerging Leader Award was won by Community CPS Australia Operations Manager Western Australia, Michelle Coehlo.

“The Industry Awards are an exciting component of our annual Convention, and reflect the significant contribution credit unions and building societies make in their communities. My congratulations go to Victoria Teachers’ Credit Union, Hume Building Society and Teachers Credit Union on their awards.

What do you think?

    Be the first to comment

Add a new comment

Paul Hayman

Paul Hayman

Paul is a staff writer for Dynamic Business online.

View all posts